Publications > Mountain Echoes
Jaffrey resident Walter Heath, the self-appointed "Poet of Monadnock", published a book of poems in 1930. In the foreward he writes: "The writer was born in the shadow of Monadnock, in Jaffrey, N.H., March 25, 1858. And here my home has always been. From a child, I have always had a desire to be writing something, especially rhymes -- an inherited condition, for my mother was a poet."

The following poems are included in the volume.

  • A Dream
  • A Gem
  • A Little Boy's Soliloquy
  • A Reverie
  • A Song of Spring
  • A Winter Reverie
  • All for Gold
  • An October Day
  • Autumn
  • Carrie's Pets
  • Christmas
  • Cottage Music
  • Grandma
  • I Wonder
  • Jaffrey
  • Just for Tonight
  • Looking for a Husband
  • May
  • May at the Farm
  • Memory of School Days
  • My Boy
  • My Country Home
  • My Ship
  • Obituary
  • One Step at a Time
  • Our Granite Hills
  • Over the Fence
  • Reunion Song
  • Song, The Country is Calling
  • Spring and the Poets
  • Spring School Song
  • The Brooklet
  • The Days Before
  • The Kitchen Dance
  • The Little Dog that Died
  • The Little Flower Boy
  • The Old Mill
  • The Stagecoach
  • The Summer People
  • Three City Boys
  • To the Mountain Herald
  • Wanted -- A Wife

Title: Mountain Echoes
Author: Walter F. Heath
Date: A1930
Place: Jaffrey, N.H.
Publisher: Self-published. Printed by the Transcript Printing Co., Peterborough, NH.
Pages: 3-39